Blog Tour Baton

I have been asked by a great writer and friend, Eufemia Fantetti, http://www.eufeminafantetti.com, to participate in this Blog tour and I am having a blast reading everyone else’s entries. Eufemia has won numerous awards and her recent book of short fiction, ‘A Recipe for Disaster & Other Unlikely Tales of Love’ is available through Mother Tongue Publishing. Her family also hails from Italy and wouldn’t you know the neighbouring village to where my parents come from. We are indeed ‘paisan’.

DSC01013

Here are my answers to the blog tour questions and before I forget, I have a new website which can also be viewed at http://www.tinabiello.com. Thanks and enjoy!

What am I working on?

I have a few projects on the go. I write poetry and have recently re-kindled my love of collaboration and am working with two fine composers. One is from Vancouver and we are working on a love suite of 5 songs. I write the poems and he composes the music for mezzo-soprano and piano. The other composer is from Montreal and we are working on a suite of 5 poems for the Montreal Baroque Festival June 2015. This theme is ‘Earth and Air’ and I will be focusing on stories of immigration. I have a book coming out with Guernica Press in 2015 called ‘A Housecoat Remains’. So working on edits for that. I also have a manuscript I am working on called ‘The Coulee Poems’ for now and is about life on the Canadian Prairies in the 50’s and 60’s.

How does my work differ from others in its genre?

Well I think the answer to this question lies in my interest and pursuit of collaboration. I have a Theatre background and find working with other artists in different disciplines absolutely exciting and invigorating. I have collaborated with a watercolour artist from Montreal and singer/songwriters from Cape Breton. I now am working with 2 different composers from across the country. My poetry tells stories that are not always mine and that too comes from my Theatre background and love of storytelling.

Why do I write what I do?

I write because I am moved to tell a story. Poetry is my medium as I love to figure out how to encapsulate a whole story in one page and give it the same commitment as a short story or novel. It’s a great challenge.

How does my writing process work?

When I get to my writing, I get up early, make coffee, sit down to write in my notebook first. It seems there are many other tasks to do around the house first! All first drafts are hand written, thank god it’s poetry and not fiction. When I think there is a poem somewhere in the writing I have done, I transfer it to computer and all editing happens there. There are poems on occasion, not daily by any means. Again, glad it’s poetry and not fiction. I work well with deadlines, must be my acting days. Manuscripts just seem to come together after time and I’m always surprised how much I have written.

 

Next up: well I’m thrilled to introduce and tag 1 writer. We were supposed to tag 2 but this amazing writer and blogger makes up for 2 entries. She is a fabulous poet and has won numerous awards and recognition for her blogs, of which she has two! Amazing! I can hardly keep up with this one. Her name is J.I. Kleinberg and you can find out about her, and I recommend start following her, at both sites:

http://www.chocolateisaverb.wordpress.com

http://www.boyntonpoetrycontest.wordpress.com

 

One thought on “Blog Tour Baton

Leave a Reply

